Skip to content

Decorex 2012

In September I visited Decorex 2012, an event focusing on interior finishes, furnishings and accessories which forms part of the London Design Festival. Whilst making my way to the Royal Hospital Chelsea on foot (much of the underground was shut for repair after the Olympics), I anticipated lots of baroque fixtures and studded upholstery.

In reality the event was far fresher and more contemporary than expected with a huge range of styles and exhibitors on show. The leading fabric and wallpaper houses were all there, but in addition there were new British brands like Emily Bond, Rapture & Wright, Barneby Gates, quirky new styling from long running British company Linwood and a striking stand from De La Cuona. Whilst most of the modernist furniture labels were over at Tent or 100% Design,  there were contemporary furnishings from Ochre and Pinch amongst others.

To underline the modernity of this year’s Decorex,  Christopher Guy‘s unmissable installation of stacked up furniture seemingly commented  ‘chuck out your chintz (or Louis XV style furniture)’. Mmm not sure about that one. However, as much of CG furniture is clearly historically influenced, I have probably misinterpreted it, and the figure diving from the top more likely implies an Olympic reference.

With a forthcoming KLC project requiring research into hard materials, it was great to see the decorative and fretwork panels from French company Lamellux and the fused materials from Nero Designs. I adored the Japanese screens and wall coverings from Biden Designs but for me, the best part of the show was the lighting including the  stunning chandeliers from London Designer Sharon Marston, those from the Portuguese Serip lighting and the understated glamour of the pieces by British company Tigermoth.

However, perhaps the nicest part of the day was meeting up with fellow KLC buddies Laura, Kelly, Sam and Annabel for afternoon tea and chatter at the Abigail’s Party inspired tea rooms. Well, it can’t all be about work can it?

Photos all mine except; Tigermoth thanks to Tigermoth Lighting; Christopher Guy installation and De Le Cuona stand thanks to www.design-union.ru

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nice to meet you Alex :) It was my first time at Decorex this year, I must admit I was ambivalent about what I might find but was pleasantly surprised. The lovely images you have captured sums up that sentiment. Have a great week :) x

    November 26, 2012
  2. It was a wonderful day, the catching up and afternoon tea were the highlights for me too:)

    Loved the way they displayed thie fabrics at De Le Cuona, your photo captures it beautifully.

    Thanks for linking to all the suppliers, there were some I had forgotten about but will be revisiting for my lighting project :)

    Great post, thanks for sharing x

    November 27, 2012
  3. Laura Drago #

    The fabric display at De le Cuona looked very dramatic, indeed. I also love the japanese wallcoverings and panels by Biden design and the Serip chandelier – a novelty for me. Very inspiring article. Thanks. x

    November 27, 2012
  4. What’s the saying about all work and no play?! Getting together over a pot of tea and a lump of cake was the highlight but the interiors did come a very close second.

    The lighting products were my favourite part of the show this year, I’ve used some of them in my latest project too. Good luck with your hard surfaces project x

    November 27, 2012
  5. Thought I had better get round to posting about this before the end of the year!

    Thanks Geraldine, the show was a pleasant surprise for me too. Laura; I thought you might like those Japanese panels! Glad the links are of use Kelly, good luck with the lighting project :)

    Sam, the saying is..’All work, no play makes for a dull girl!’ and we wouldn’t want that would we?

    It was really nice to meet up, shame I am not nearer to do so more often :) Thanks for your comments, connecting online makes all the difference.

    Have a good week all x

    November 27, 2012
  6. Wow! You made it just before the end of the year. Well done!!:)

    Decorex was not a show I visited but read many reports on… I remember you meeting up with the girls. Your tea party looked fab.

    Nice to meet you (online)…

    December 2, 2012

Leave a comment