Skip to content

KLC Section 3

Here at last is my section 3 submission for my Eyebrook Design KLC studies.

It has taken longer than anticipated, but I have enjoyed this section of the course, particularly the classic contemporary window treatment and scheme.

The scheme features two of my current  favourites; trees and the colour ochre…

In case you are wondering that gorgeous print is Osbourne and Little’s ‘Richmond’ fabric.

The silk velvets are by James Brindley of Harrogate.

I enjoyed the challange of the axonometric drawing…

The lighting project was tricky. Even though I have experience of re-wiring and sourcing lighting for properties, there was still lots to learn about  layering lighting and organising lighting through circuits. I loved the research into lighting effects and still pour over Sally Storey’s book Lighting by Design.

The colour projects were fun, I love putting together colours and pattern so the quantity of schemes required here was a chance to play. The schemes really bring home how colour affects the way we feel in a space.

The environment section was a real eye opener. What a brilliantly written presentation by KLC. What clicked for me was the difference between true sustainability and ‘eco bling’; it sparked a desire to try to work in an environmentally and socially sustainable way.

The planning and building regulations project involved lots of research to create a client proposal and schedule for building and design works.

To some, Interior Design has a bit of a fluffy image. But I think that it is actually one of the most challenging design disciplines.

It has to consider the functional and the tactile, the way a space interacts with our movements and fulfils our practical needs. The aesthetic challenge is also huge, the composition changes with every wall and angle seen as we move through a space. In addition, Interior Design requires a practical knowledge of a huge range of materials, products, technologies and styles.

I chose the course as I wanted an area of creative focus that would challenge me for life. I think I chose well, the creative possibilities and challenges seem never-ending.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Congratulations! You must be so relieved now it’s all posted and finished :)

    All your work looks fabulous, I’m sure you will do really well. I love the way you have presented your sitting room scheme with the ribbon, looks really professional.

    I’ve just got started on this module, so thanks for the lighting book recommendation, off to get that at lunch time.

    Best of luck with module 4 and the marking.

    Kelly x

    July 19, 2012
    • Thanks Kelly

      Relieved is the right word! But I really did enjoy it. It is amazing how the projects that seem daunting at the beginning seem very manageable by the end. Good luck with your section 3…I am sure you will breeze it :)

      Alex x

      July 19, 2012
  2. laurapassey #

    Wowee! Your work is impeccable, a real pleasure to look at. Such a good feeling when you send a section off, isn’t it?! I totally agree with your analysis of interior design as a discipline: it requires an ever-expanding knowledge bank and a wide variety of skills. And it’s so satisfying to see what you create at the end!

    Laura xx

    July 19, 2012
    • Hi Laura,

      So true! It is a great feeling to finish a section. I am very excited about visiting the Post Office this afternoon! Thank you for your lovely feedback. I hope your studies and new role are going well :)
      Hope to catch you in September at Decorex, Alex xx

      July 19, 2012
  3. Laura D #

    wow, that’s awesome to have finished this rather “endless” project. Congrats Alex. Your works looks amazing. I love the palette of colours and the axo is beautifully rendered. I agree, the black ribbon is a very elegant touch. :) This will be a good reason to celebrate at Decorex. :)
    Best of luck with module 4. As far as I remember this one will be less challenging.
    L xx

    July 19, 2012
    • Thanks Laura!

      Yes lots of reasons to celebrate…you will have finished and you never know I may have 4 done by then (Mmm!!). Thanks for the lovely comments, it is so nice to get feedback. Good luck with your HOS :)
      Alex x

      July 19, 2012
  4. Laura D #

    I really hope so; double fingers crossed (for both) :) I look forward to seeing you in september. X

    July 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

